Temporary Disability / Caregiver Insurance

IMPORTANT: A new payment card will be sent to claimants who receive their UI or TDI payments via Electronic Payment Card (EPC). Please click here for more information.

Click here for information on COVID-19 sick leave options.

Temporary Disability Insurance (TDI)

TDI provides benefit payments to insured RI workers for weeks of unemployment caused by a temporary disability or injury. Enacted in 1942, TDI was the first of its kind in the United States. It protects workers against wage loss resulting from a non-work related illness or injury, and is funded exclusively by Rhode Island workers. Only four other states; New York, New Jersey, California and Hawaii, as well as the commonwealth of Puerto Rico, have a TDI program.

BENEFIT RATES as of 1/1/22:
$114 minimum; $978 maximum
not including dependency allowance

Temporary Caregiver Insurance (TCI)

TCI was signed into law on July 11, 2013. TCI provides eligible claimants up to 5 weeks of caregiver benefits to care for a seriously ill child, spouse, domestic partner, parent, parent-in-law or grandparent, or to bond with a newborn child, new adopted child or new foster-care child. You must apply for TCI benefits during the first 30 days after the first day of leave is taken for reasons of bonding or caregiving.

Tax Information

The current withholding rate as of January 1, 2022 is 1.1% of your first $81,500 in earnings. Workers aged 14 and 15 are exempt from wage deductions and coverage. If you worked for more than one RI employer in a calendar year and your total wages were more than $71,000 (in 2019), you may be entitled to a TDI tax refund. To download a TDI tax refund claim form on-line, click here. You can also obtain the refund form from the Division of Taxation, 1 Capitol Hill-Suite 36, Providence, RI 02908, 401-574-8700.

Temporary Disability Insurance benefits are not subject to Federal or State income taxes; therefore, you will not receive a 1099-G form. Temporary Caregiver Insurance benefits are subject to Federal and State income taxes. If you receive TCI benefits, you will receive a General Form (1099-G) in January of the year following the year in which you were paid TCI benefits indicating the amount you received. This amount will also be reported to the IRS.

    Contact Us

    DLT.TDI@dlt.ri.gov

    TDI Call Center:
    (401) 462-8420

    • Monday: 8am - 3:30pm
    • Tuesday: 8am - 3:30pm
    • Wednesday: Closed
    • Thursday: 8am - 3:30pm
    • Friday: 9am - 3:30pm

    Employers:
    (401) 462-8360

    Healthcare Providers:
    (401) 462-8447

    RI Dept. of Labor and Training
    Temporary Disability Insurance
    PO Box 20100
    Cranston, RI 02920