Rhode Island Tax Credits Quick Links
- Work Opportunity Tax Credit
- Jobs Growth Act
- Investment Tax Credit
- New Employment Tax Incentive
- Qualified Jobs Incentive Tax Credit
- Rebuild Rhode Island Tax Credit
- Commerce RI Tax Incentives and Credits
Rhode Island boasts some of the most aggressive employment and training tax credit programs in the nation. The Department of Labor and Training (DLT), working in conjunction with the Economic Development Corporation, the Governor's Workforce Board-RI, and the Division of Taxation offers many impressive credit programs.
Here are a number of federal and state tax credits and grants. Each is linked to more specific information, including purpose, requirements, maximum amount, and administering agencies. More information can be obtained by contacting your Employer Service Representative.
Work Opportunity Tax Credit
The Work Opportunity Tax Credit (download brochure)
To promote the hiring of certain targeted groups of job seekers.
Employers that hire individuals that are members of one specific target group may be eligible to receive a tax credit of $2,400 per individual. In general, the target groups include qualified Temporary Assistance to Needy Families (TANF) recipients, some veterans, recipients of vocational rehabilitation services, food stamp recipients, qualified ex-felons and Supplemental Security Income (SSI) recipientslong-term unemployed.
Qualifying employers must file IRS form 8850 and ETA form 9061 or 9062 with the DLT. The Department must certify that there is documentary evidence verifying that the individual qualifies in one of the targeted groups for employment categories.
- Form 8850 Instructions
- Form 8850, Rev. 3/2016
- Form ETA 9061, expires 1/31/2020
- Form ETA 9175, expires 1/31/2020
- Instructions for Form 2848
- Form 2848 Power of Attorney and Declaration of Representative
Forms must be submitted within 28 calendar days of the employee's start date
- The Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training
- The United States Department of the Treasury
- Internal Revenue Service
Contact the Business Workforce Center at 401-462-8724, 401-462-8721 or 401-462-8977 for more information
General WOTC information - www.doleta.gov/business/incentives/opptax/
Jobs Growth Act
To provide tax incentives for employees of large companies
This public law would allow companies that employee 100 or more new workers, with a new payroll of at least $10 million, to offer their employees tax exemptions on half the money they make in bonuses. Companies offering the program would need to show that the employees make more than 125 percent of the state's average wage. An application for certification would be filed with the Rhode Island Economic Development Corporation.
Business Corporation Tax
To allow a tax credit of 50 percent of actual wages paid to a qualifying apprentice or $4,800, whichever is less.
Employers that hire an apprentice as a machine toolmaker, machinist, model-maker, gage maker, pattern-maker, plastic process technician, tool and machine setter, die-sinker, mold-maker, tool & die maker, and similar occupations may be eligible for a tax credit of 50 percent of actual wages or $4,800, whichever is less. The apprentice must be enrolled in a registered qualified program through the Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training's State Apprenticeship Council.
- DLT-L-20 Form Apprenticeship Agreement Form
- Apprenticeship Council Informational Data Form
- Apprenticeship Agreement for Employer
- Standards Packet of Apprenticeship
- Apprenticeship Ratio Sheet
- RI Department of Labor and Training
- RI State Apprenticeship Council
- RI Division of Taxation
- US Dept. of Labor
- Federal Bureau of Apprenticeship and Training
For more information visit or RI Employers' Apprenticeship Tax Credit Brochure (pdf)
New Employment Tax Incentive
To allow a tax incentive in the form of a deduction or modification of 40% of the employee's first year wages up to $2,400 per employee.
Effective January 1, 1998, an incentive in the form of a deduction or modification is available to businesses who hire employees who are Rhode Island residents and who have been "unemployed" as defined in Paragraph III, Section 2 of this regulation. Once each employee has been employed by the business for a minimum of 52 consecutive calendar weeks, has a minimum of 1,820 hours of paid employment and is certified by the Department of Labor and Training, the business shall be entitled to take this incentive.