

State of Rhode Island RI Department of Labor and Training

Division of Workforce Regulation and Safety, Professional Regulations Unit 1511 Pontiac Avenue - Building 70 - P.O. BOX 20247, Cranston, RI 02920-0943 Phone:(401)462-8580 | Fax: (401)462-8528 | www.dlt.ri.gov/profregs



RENEWABLE ENERGY PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATE OR SOLAR THERMAL PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATE -- INSTRUCTIONS -- PLEASE READ CAREFULLY

Applications that are incomplete or missing required documents will not be processed and will be returned to the applicant.

- 1. A legible copy of Driver License or Passport or any type of Government ID MUST be attached.
- 2. Your application must be signed and notarized.
- 3. In accordance with the General Laws of the State of Rhode Island, (H-8200, S-2692); the Department of Labor and Training will issue a Renewable Energy Professional (REP) Certificate to an individual who is currently a registered contractor in Rhode Island and fulfills at least one of the following qualifications:
 - A. The applicant currently holds a certificate from the North American Board of Certified Energy Practitioners (NABCEP) in one of the following areas: PV Installation Professional or Solar Heating Installer Certification (solar hot water). The REP will then be able to install only the technology for which they hold a certificate.
 - B. The applicant holds a current certification from United Illuminating (UL)'s PV Installer Certification Program. This training is available to members of the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW) and the National Electrical Contractors Association (NECA).
 - C. The applicant holds an Associate's degree or higher in renewable or solar energy installation (or a related field) from an accredited school (e.g. New England Technical Institute, Rhode Island College, Community College of Rhode Island, etc.).
 - D. The applicant holds a certificate of training from a manufacturer of a specific technology for the installation of that specific technology (e.g. solar roof shingles). The REP will then be able to install only the technology for which they hold a certificate.
 - E. SEI Solar Professionals Certificate for Residential and Commercial Photovoltaic Systems.
 - F. The applicant holds a certification from Everblue's PV Training Program, NABCEP PV Installation Exam Prep course
 - G. The applicant holds a certificate of completion from the Department of Energy SunShot Initiative's Solar Ready Vets® program. A certificate of completion from any of the military bases offering this training will be accepted.
 - H. The applicant hold a certification from NABCEP PV Installer Specialist (PVIS) certificate.

Installation Professional for Solar PV Installers. Installers.

Electrical and plumbing licenses already includes the work allowed by the REP limited license. Only contractors or individuals without an electrical or plumbing license are required to obtain the REP limited license to perform renewable energy work.

Non-Refundable Processing Application Fee

	Computer Code	Application Fee	Two-Year License Fee
ELECTRICIAN:			
Renewable Energy Professional REPC PLUMBING:	127	NO TEST	\$ 240
Solar Thermal Professional STPC	056	NO TEST	\$240



State of Rhode Island RI Department of Labor and Training

Division of Workforce Regulation and Safety, Professional Regulations Unit 1511 Pontiac Avenue - Building 70 - P.O. BOX 20247, Cranston, RI 02920-0943 Phone: (401) 462-8580 | Fax: (401) 462-8528 | www.dlt.ri.gov/profregs



APPLICATION FOR RENEWABLE ENERGY PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATE AND SOLAR THERMAL PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATE

Application Must be Printed CLEARLY

Social Security Number:	Date o	of Birth:	
Full Name (Last, First + Middle Initial):			
Street Address:			
City/Town:		State:	Zip Code:
Home or Mobile Telephone:		Email:	
Certificate Applying For:		Computer Cod	de:
Do you need this exam in a language	other than English. Ye	s No If yes, what lan	guage?
CATEGORY – Applicants must	state which Certificate is	s requested	
Employer:			
If Self Employed, Company Name:			
Employer Address:			
City/Town:		State:	Zip Code:
Employer Telephone:			
General Listing of Work History:			
1. Name of Employer:			
1. Dates Worked: From:			
2. Name of Employer:		Type of Work:	
2. Dates Worked: From:	To:		
3. Name of Employer:		* *	
3. Dates Worked: From:	To:		
Education - List all education and sch Thermal Professional.	ooling that you have red	ceived in the renewable	Energy Professional and Solar
1. Location:		Degree/Diploma: _	
1. Dates Attended: From :	To:		
2. Location:		Degree/Diploma: _	
2. Dates Attended: From :	To:		
3. Location:		Degree/Diploma: _	
3. Dates Attended: From:	To:		Page 1 of

this licensing test applicat	ion.	
Applicant Signature:		Date:
		Expiration Date:
Submit ONLY this page an	d the prior page wi	th required documents to:
	Rhode Island	Department of Labor and Training
	Division of \	Workforce Regulation and Safety
	Prof	fessional Regulation Unit
	1511 Po	ontiac Avenue, PO Box 20247
	Cr	ranston, RI 02920-0943
	Phone (401)) 462-8580 Fax (401) 462-8528
	•	u may request a review of the same, in writing, to the Division of tion, within thirty (30) days of failure notice.
Equal Opportunity Employer •	Auxiliary Aids and servi	ices are available upon request to individuals with disabilities. TTY via RI Relay: 711
	FOR OFFICE USE C	ONLY – PLEASE DO NOT WRITE IN THIS AREA
Test Fee Paid CHECK CF	REDIT MO	Division/Commission Approval for Test

Listed employers or customers may be sent forms to attest to the truthfulness of all statements on this

application and these will have to be sent back to this division, properly notarized, before any action is taken on



NOTICE

Renewable Energy Professional
Applicants and Solar Thermal
Professional Applicants

According to RI General Laws §5-65-2 and 5-65-7,
ALL individuals who possess a Master License in:

•Renewable Energy Professional

•Thermal Solar Professional Trades,

and act as a contractor* within their respective Trade, must provide a current certificate of insurance

for public liability, property damage, combined single limit and bodily injury for at least \$500,000 to the RI Department of Labor and Training as a condition for a valid license.

Please email required documents to dlt.ri.gov or mail them to:

RI Dept. of Labor and Training
Workforce Regulation and Safety, Professional Regulation
1511 Pontiac Avenue, P O Box 20247, Building 70-2, Cranston, RI 02920

For questions please call (401) 462-8580, Option #4 Fax (401) 462-8528

If the licensee is not acting as a contractor, please complete the exemption certification on the reverse side of this notice.



RHODE ISLAND DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND TRAINING

Exemption Certification

I certify that although I hold a Master License, I am not currently acting as a contractor in my respective trade, therefore exempt from the insurance requirement of Rhode Island General Laws §5-65-2 and 5-65-7.

I understand that if I begin contracting for work in my respective trade, I must provide proof of insurance to the Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training, Professional Regulation Unit.

Printed Name:	
Signature:	
<u> </u>	
	License #:
	Date:



RHODE ISLAND DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND TRAINING
Administrative Offices: 1511 Pontiac Avenue, Cranston, RI 02920 • www.dlt.ri.gov



Department of Labor and Training

Workforce Regulation and Safety Division Joseph Degnan, Assistant Director

Statement Regarding Workforce Regulation and Safety Policy 15-01

As the licensing authority for the electrical trade, DLT's Workforce Regulation and Safety Division received a number of inquiries in early 2015 from contractors, renewable energy professionals and electricians seeking guidance regarding licensure requirements pertaining to the scope of work performed on renewable energy projects.

On March 16, 2015, DLT convened a stakeholder group to seek input from professionals representing installers, contractors, electricians and renewable energy policy groups. Several parties attended this meeting and offered their position as to how DLT should enforce RIGL §5-6-8 (g), *Renewable Energy Professional* limited electrical license. Parties were asked to provide written testimony in support of their position to Assistant Director Joseph Degnan subsequent to the meeting.

Based on the department's review of the comments received, guidance previously issued by the independent State Board of Examiners of Electricians and requirements of related licensing laws in neighboring states, the department has issued Workforce Regulation and Safety (WRS) policy 15-01.

This policy requires any and all components of solar installation projects considered to be electrical apparatus to be installed by electricians licensed by the department. Taking all aspects of photovoltaic (PV) systems into consideration, the department's position is that the racking/rail systems for PV installations are indeed part of the effective grounding and bonding systems for these installations. As such, only persons that have received the requisite classroom and on-the-job training necessary to obtain journeyperson licensure by DLT are permitted to install these systems. Electrical apprentices, working under the guidance and direct supervision of licensed journeypersons may also perform these installations.



Department of Labor and Training

Workforce Regulation and Safety Division Joseph Degnan, Assistant Director

WRS POLICY ADVISORY: 15-01

SUBJECT: Installation of Renewable Energy Technologies

PURPOSE: To clarify licensure requirements for the installation of renewable

energy technologies.

DATE ISSUED: April 28, 2015

Rhode Island General Laws § 5-6-8 establishes a Renewable Energy Professional Certificate which allows certificate holders without an electrical license to perform ancillary non-electrical renewable energy work. Licensed electricians are required to perform all renewable energy electrical work.

It is the policy of the Department of Labor and Training that:

The term apparatus under RIGL § 5-6-8 (g) includes, but is not limited to: frames, racks, rails, modules and photovoltaic panels.

Ancillary non-electrical renewable energy work under R.I. Gen. Laws §5-6-8 (g) includes advertising, bidding, contracting, and distributing materials to the final location of installation. Additionally, this work includes the installation of ground and rooftop support brackets and ballasts for rack systems.

Solar sheathing systems under RIGL§ 5-6-8 (g) are limited to photovoltaic modules that are attached directly to the roof structure without a racking or rail system and replace material as the primary weatherproofing system for the roof structure.

Conflicting interpretations of the law led the Department to provide this guidance. Trade license laws will be enforced by the Department in accordance with this policy. This policy applies to all projects bid for and awarded on or after the policy effective date.



Apprenticeship ~ Labor Standards ~ Occupational Safety ~ Prevailing Wage ~ Professional Regulation

THIS IS AN IMPORTANT NOTICE

If you do not understand the enclosed notice, please contact this office in the RI Department of Labor and Training, Division of Workforce Regulation and Safety to speak with a Spanish interpreter. Spanish interpreters are available to assist you. If you are attending a hearing, you cannot use your own interpreter. The Division of Workforce Regulation and Safety will provide an interpreter for you. It is important that you call the Division of Workforce Regulation and Safety at (401) 462-8570 or (401) 462-8580, at least seven (7) days prior to your hearing to request an interpreter.

The Division of Workforce Regulation and Safety is responsible to provide interpreter services at no cost to you. You are responsible for requesting these services in accordance with the procedures outlined in this notice.

PLEASE NOTE:

Interpreters are available to assist customers in languages other than Spanish. Please contact the Division of Workforce Regulation at (401) 462-8580 or (401) 462-8570 to request an interpreter or written translation in a language other than Spanish.

AVISO IMPORTANTE

Si usted no entiende esta notificación, por favor contacte a la oficina de RI Departamento de Trabajo y Entrenamiento División de Workforce Regulation y Safety para hablar con un intérprete en Español. Interpretes en Español están disponibles para asistirle. Usted no puede usar su propio intérprete si va a asistir a una audiencia. Workforce Regulation y Safety le proveerá un intérprete a usted. Es importante que usted llamé al Workforce Regulation y Safety al (401) 462-8570 o (401) 462-8580 por lo menos (7) días antes de su audiencia para solicitar un intérprete.

La División de Worforce Regulation y Safety es responsable de provéer servicios de interpretación sin costo alguno para usted. Usted es responsable de solicitar estos servicios de acuerdo con el procedimiento escrito en esta notificación.

POR FAVOR OBSERVE:

Interpretes estan disponible para asistir a clientes en idiomas, ademas del Español. Por favor contacte la de Division of Workforce Regulation, llamando al (401) 462-8580 o (401) 462-8570, para solicitar un interprete o para traduccion escrita en un idioma, ademas del Español.