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Maximum Weekly Benefit Amounts for Unemployment and Temporary Disability
Insurance to Increase in July

CRANSTON, R.L. - Today, the Department of Labor and Training announced new maximum weekly benefit amounts
for the two major income support programs it runs for Rhode Island workers and employers — Unemployment
Insurance (UI) and Temporary Disability Insurance (TDI).

For new claims with an effective date of July 4, 2021 or later, the maximum weekly benefit rate for Unemployment
Insurance will increase to $661 per beneficiary, an increase of $62 from last year’s maximum of $599. For
beneficiaries with the maximum five dependents the maximum weekly benefit rate will be $826.

The maximum weekly benefit rate for Temporary Disability Insurance will increase to $978 per beneficiary, an
increase of $91 from the current weekly maximum benefit rate of $887. For beneficiaries with the maximum five
dependents, the maximum weekly benefit rate will be $1,320.

The Labor Market Information (LMI) division of DLT calculates benefit rates for UI and TDI every June, before the
start of the new benefit year. Ul and TDI maximum weekly benefit amounts are calculated using the average weekly
wage in covered employment for the previous calendar year.

Average Monthly Covered Employment 433,256
Total Wages in Covered Employment $25,906,148,319
Average Annual Wage $59,794

. Average Weekly Wage $1,149.89

The maximum weekly benefit rate for Ul is set at 57.5 percent of the average weekly wage for covered employment,
rounded down to the next lower dollar amount.

For UI Maximum

57.5% of the Average Weekly Wage $661.18
Rounded down next lower dollar amount $661
Increased by 25 percent for 5 dependents $826.25
Rounded to the next lower dollar amount | $826

The maximum weekly benefit for TDI is set at 85 percent of the average weekly wage, as follows:

For TDI Maximum

85 Percent of the Average Weekly Wage $977.40
Rounded to the next higher dollar amount $978
Increased by 35 percent for 5 dependents $1,320.30
Rounded to the next lower dollar amount $1,320
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About UI and TDI: Ul provides temporary income support to workers who have lost their jobs through no fault of their own and
who have sufficient wages to meet the monetary requirements. It is funded entirely from state and federal Ul taxes paid by RI
employers. TDI protects workers against wage loss due to a non-work related illness or injury, and through Temporary Caregiver
Insurance (TCI), which provides up to four weeks to bond with a new child or to care for a seriously ill family member. Workers
pay for TDI through a payroll tax.

About DLT: The Department of Labor and Training (DLT) offers employment services, educational services and economic
opportunities to both individuals and employers. DLT protects Rhode Island’s workforce by enforcing labor laws, prevailing wage
rates and workplace health and safety standards. The department also provides temporary income support to unemployed and
temporarily disabled workers. For more information, please call the Department of Labor and Training at (401) 462-8000 or visit
the website at www.dlt.ri.gov.
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