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RHODE ISLAND

Notice to All Licensed Master and Journeyman Plumbers in the State of Rhode Island
Subject: Mandatory Continuing Education Requirement

In accordance with Rhode Island General Laws § 5-20-23(f): “All licensed master or journeyperson
plumbers shall attend and complete a continuing education course at their expense as determined by
the Board of Examiners, prior to the renewal or reinstatement of an existing license.”

The State Board of Examiners for Plumbing has approved a 7-hour training program for each
two (2)-year license cycle to satisfy this requirement. The DLT will provide contact information for
all approved providers on our website as soon as it becomes available. This continuing education
requirement will be enforced beginning January 2027.

Exemptions:

A licensee who has a combination of years of experience as a licensed Master or Journeyperson
plumber and years of age which, when combined, equal a total of eighty (80) years, pursuant to
R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-20-23(g).

Providers and Instructors:

The State Board of Plumbing Examiners is now accepting applications from qualified applicants who
wish to become providers or instructors for the upcoming continuing education requirement. (All
requirements for providers and instructors are listed below.)

Provider Requirements:
Individuals or entities wishing to become a provider for the mandatory continuing education program
must:

1. Hold a current, valid Rhode Island Master Plumbing License (for at least five years).

2. Complete and submit the Provider Application Form and the Provider Agreement Form.
The $250.00 fee can be paid directly to the ICC (see web address on page 2 of the Provider
Application Form).

Submit a detailed outline of proposed class dates, locations, and times.
4. Provide proof of General Liability Insurance with coverage of at least $500,000 per policy.

5. Provide proof of Workers’ Compensation Insurance in compliance with R.I. Gen. Laws
§ 28-29-1 et seq.

All Provider applicants must appear before the Board for approval.

Instructor Requirements:
To qualify as an instructor, individuals must meet at least one of the following criteria:

1. Hold a Rhode Island Master Plumbing License for at least five (5) years.

2. Be a current Rhode Island Plumbing Inspector, Assistant Plumbing Inspector, or Building
Official.
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3. Be the Rhode Island State Building Commissioner or a designee approved by the Board or the
Chief Plumbing Investigator.

Additionally, all instructors must:

* Submit a resume and a current copy of their Rhode Island Plumber License.

* Complete the International Code Council’s Train the Trainer Program and submit the
Certificate of Completion with their application.

° Train the Trainer dates are: October 8th, October 10th, and October 17th, all in the
conference room in building 73 here at the DLT. All training class start times are 8am-4pm
with a 1-hour lunch break.

» Payments for the provider training will be submitted directly to the web address provided on
page 2 of the Provider Application.

Unlicensed instructors may be approved to teach specialty-related classes if they demonstrate
competency in their field. However, unlicensed instructors cannot participate in certain sessions.

Application Process:
Application forms for Providers and Instructors will soon be available on the Department of Labor
and Training (DLT) website at dlt.ri.gov.

For further information, please refer to the DLT Rules and Regulations for Licensing of Plumbers,
Section 9.3, F. “Mandatory Continuing Education (MCE) Requirements,” #7 and #8, available at:
https://rules.sos.ri.gov/regulations/part/260-30-15-9.

If you have any questions, please contact:

Mr. Dean Gallagher
Chief Plumbing Investigator
Email: Dean.Gallagher@dlt.ri.gov

Vit

Joseph R/ Degnan
Assistant Director
Workforce Regulation and Safety Division
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