
Both Rhode Island and Federal laws regulate the employment 
of minors. These laws were written to protect younger workers 
from long hours and hazardous jobs. By following the laws, 

younger workers can earn safely and gain experience.

You must be 14 years old to work legally in Rhode Island.

Minimum Age Requirements:

	● Minors aged 14 and 15: Generally, minors aged 14 and 
15 are allowed to work in certain non-hazardous jobs 
during specific hours.

	● Minors aged 16 and 17: There are fewer restrictions for 
minors aged 16 and 17, but they are still prohibited from 
working in hazardous occupations.

Work Hours:

	● Parental Involvement:
•	 Parental consent is required for minors to work in 

Rhode Island
	● Minors aged 14 and 15 cannot work:

•	 During school hours.
•	 Before 6:00 am or after 7:00 pm, except until 9:00 

pm during school vacations. For businesses under 
federal law, work is allowed from 7:00 am to 9:00 
pm from June 1 until Labor Day.

•	 More than 8 hours per day. For businesses under 
federal law, more than 3 hours per school day.

•	 More than 40 hours per week. For businesses under 
federal law, more than 18 hours per week during 
school weeks, or more than 40 hours per week 
during non-school weeks.

	● Minors aged 16 and 17 cannot work:
•	 More than 48 hours per week.
•	 More than 9 hours per day (or 9 3/5 hours per day 

for a 5-day work week).
•	 Before 6 am or after 11:30 PM (1:30 AM if no school 

the next day).
•	 Without an 8-hour respite between the end of a shift 

on one day and the start of work the next day.
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Child Labor Laws

Work Permits:

•	 Minors aged 14 and 15 must obtain and complete a 
Special Limited Permit to Work form to be employed 
in Rhode Island.

•	 To get work permits, visit your local school department 
with proof of your age (Birth or Baptismal Certificate, 
Driver’s License, Passport, School Records).

Jobs in which youth CAN be employed:

Rhode Island youth have a range of employment 
opportunities available to them. These include:

•	 Office and clerical work
•	 Retail and sales
•	 Advertising
•	 Price marketing and tagging
•	 Bagging and carrying out orders
•	 Errand and delivery work
•	 Cleanup work
•	 Group maintenance
•	 Kitchen work and wait staff
...and more.

Additionally, there are more opportunities beyond these 
listed, offering a variety of experiences for young workers.

Jobs in which youth CANNOT be employed:

Minors under 18 are generally prohibited from working in 
hazardous occupations. These include:

•	 Manufacturing various products
•	 Mining
•	 Logging and sawmilling
•	 Wrecking demolition and sihpbreaking
•	 Jobs requiring operating power-driven/heavy 

machinery
•	 Roofing
•	 Excavating
...and more.

For a comprehensive list of which jobs youth can and cannot 
be employed, visit

dlt.ri.gov/regulation-and-safety/labor-standards/child-
labor-laws

	● Are minors allowed to work overtime?

•	 Minors are typically not allowed to work overtime, as 
there are restrictions on the number of hours they 
can work per day and per week.

	● Is an intern or student entitled to receive the 
minimum wage and overtime pay?

•	 Whether an intern or student is an employee under 
the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) necessarily 
depends on the unique circumstances of each case. 
Find out more at youthrules.gov

	● Do child labor laws apply to volunteer work?

•	 Child labor laws may still apply to volunteer work if it 
involves certain types of tasks or conditions that are 
regulated by law. To Learn more, visit
webapps.dol.gov/elaws/whd/flsa/docs/
volunteers.asp

	● Do child labor laws apply to family businesses?

•	 Yes, child labor laws generally apply to family 
businesses as well, although there may be some 
exemptions or special provisions for minors working 
in family businesses. It’s important for employers 
to familiarize themselves with applicable laws to 
ensure compliance.

	● What are the consequences for employers who 
violate child labor laws?

•	 Employers who violate child labor laws may 
face penalties, including fines and legal action. 
Additionally, repeated violations may result in the 
loss of the employer’s certificate to employ minors.

Dos and Don’ts Frequently Asked Questions



This pamphlet is for general information only, and does not 
have the force and effect of the law, rule or regulation.

The DLT is an Equal Opportunity Employer/Program.
Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with 

disabilities. TTY users, please call the Rhode Island Relay Service at 711.
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Laws
	● Want more information about jobs?

•	 Visit EmployRI at: www.employri.org

	● Meet with a Career Coach

•	 To find training opportunities and get job coaching, 
resume writing assistance, and interview 
preparation support, visit us at one of our...

	● Become and Apprentice

•	 Registered Apprenticeship is a proven model of job 
preparation that combines paid on-the-job learning 
with related instruction to progressively increase 
workers’ skill levels and wages. Learn more at:
bit.ly/DLTApprenticeships

	● Internship Opportunities

•	 Find opportunities to gain valuable experience, 
enhance skills, and kickstart your career journey by 
visiting: gwb.ri.gov/programs-services

Where to Find
Employment Opportunities and 

Resources

If you have questions relating to youth employment, please 
feel free to contact us.  We are here to help you!

Labor Standards Unit
RI Department of Labor & Training

Phone: (401) 462-8550 | Fax: (401) 462-8530
Email: dlt.laborstandards@dlt.ri.gov

Online: bit.ly/RIChildLaborLaws

US Department of Labor - Wage and Hour Division
Phone: (866) 4US-WAGE | Online: www.youthrules.gov
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Youth Resource Guide

Other Resources

Career & Technical 
Education (CTE)

PrepareRI

Adult Education in 
Rhode Island

All Course
Network (ACN)

Skills for Rhode 
Island’s Future

A Guide for 
Youth 

& Young Adults


