
Permit 
Number 

 

Date  

Make 3 Copies 
1. Employer 
2. Labor Dept. 
3. Issuer Check Orig           Reissue 

  

Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training 
SPECIAL LIMITED PERMIT TO WORK 
for a Minor 14-15 Years of Age 

 
Print in Ink, or Type on-line, (except signatures) CL-2-6/80 

 

1. Full Name of Minor first middle last 15. Name of Parent or Guardian 

2. Address of Minor 16. Address of Parent or Guardian 

3. Age 4. Date of Birth 5. Sex 17. Evidence of Age presented by minor 

6. Currently Registered for School? Yes No 

7. Last Grade Completed 8. Name of School 

18. Signature of Minor 
 
 

X 
9. Business Name of Employer 

10. Business Telephone  

19. I hereby certify that I am duly appointed and authorized by the 
School Committee for to issue this 
special limited permit to the employer named herein for employment of this 
minor in the occupation and at the address described. I also certify that I 
have reason to believe that the minor named is of the age herein stated. 

11. Business Address of Employer 20. Signature of Issuing Officer 

12. Address where minor will perform work (if different from above) 21. Telephone Number of Issuing Officer 

13. Nature of Employer’s Business 22. Title of Issuing Officer 

14. Nature of work to be performed by minor 23. Date Signed 

DLT-L-75 (Rev. 08/2015 mdf)    CL-2-6/80 
 

NOTICE TO EMPLOYER 
 

1. This document is valid for employment in Rhode Island only. 
 

2. This document is your property and must be kept with your payroll records. Upon termination of employment, note in your records 
for this employee, the certificate number, date of issuance, and city or town from which it was issued, and return this document to the 
issuing officer. 

 
3. HOURS OF WORK MINORS 14-15 years of age: 

Maximum hours - RI 8 hours per day, 40 hours per week 
Federal - 3 hours per day (school day) - 8 hours non-school day, 18 hours per week (school week), 40 hours, non-school week 
Curfew - RI Employment permitted between the hours of 6 A.M. and 7 P.M. (except 9 P.M. during school vacation) 
Federal - Employment between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. (except 9 P.M. from June 1st through Labor Day) 

 
THE MORE RESTRICTIVE STANDARD APPLIES WHENEVER THERE IS COVERAGE BY BOTH STATE AND FEDERAL LAW. 
Work is prohibited in factories, mechanical, manufacturing, or processing establishments, docks, warehouses, storage rooms, dispensing gasoline, car washes 
and parking lot attendants. 

 
NO WORK WHEN SCHOOL IS IN SESSION.  Minors 14-15 may not start work until employer has been issued the necessary permit. 

 
For information regarding Federal Restrictions contact the area office: For information regarding the provisions of Rhode Island laws contact: 

 
Employment Standards Administration Labor Standards Unit 
United States Dept. of Labor RI Department of Labor and Training 
380 Westminister Street, Providence, RI 02903 P.O. Box 20390, Cranston, RI 02920-0944 
(401) 490-2370 (401) 462-8550 
 

 DLT is an equal opportunity employer/program - auxiliary aids and services available upon request. TTY via RI Relay: 711 
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