
 

 
Cert. No.

 

Date 

Make 3 Copies 
1. Employer 
2. Labor Dept. 
3. Issuer Check(x) Orig. Reissue 

 

Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training 
CERTIFICATE OF AGE for Minors 16-17 Years of Age 

 
Print in Ink, or Type or on-line (except Signatures) 

 
1. Full Name of Minor first middle last 15. Name of Parent or Guardian 

2. Address of Minor 16. Address of Parent or Guardian 

3. Age 4. Date of Birth 5. Sex 17. Evidence of Age presented by minor (if operator’s license, give #.) 

6. Currently Registered for School? Yes No 

7. Last Grade Completed 8. Name of School 

18. Signature of Minor 
 

 
X 

9. Business Name of Employer 

10. Business Telephone 

19. I hereby certify that I am duly appointed and authorized by the 
School Committee for to issue this 
certificate of age to the employer named herein for the employment of this 
minor in the occupation and at the address described. I also certify that I 
have reason to believe that the minor named is of the age herein stated. 

11. Business Address of Employer 20. Signature of Issuing Officer 

12. Address where minor will perform work (if different from above) 21. Issuing Officer Telephone Number 

13. Nature of Employer’s Business 22. Title of Issuing Officer 

14. Nature of work to be performed by minor 23. Date Signed 

DLT-L-76 (Rev. 08/2015 mdf)    CL-3-6/80 

 
NOTICE TO EMPLOYER 

 
1. This document is valid for employment in Rhode Island only. 

 
2. This document is your property and must be kept with your payroll records. Upon termination of employment, note in your records 
for this employee, the certificate number, date of issuance, and city or town from which it was issued, then return this document to the 
issuing officer. If employee has attained eighteenth birthday at the time of termination, you may give this document to the employee. 

 
3. HOURS OF WORK  Minors 16-17 years of age: 

Maximum hours - RI 9 hours per day (9 3/5 per day in a 5 day work week.) 48 hours per week. 
Curfew - STUDENT: Employment permitted between the hours of 6 A.M. and 11:30 P.M. (if no classes are scheduled on the 

following day, minor may be employed until 1:30 A.M.) 
NON-STUDENT: No Curfew 

 
Certain Occupations have been declared hazardous for 16 and 17 year old workers through the provisions of the Fair Labor Standards Act. 

 
For information regarding Federal Restrictions contact the area office: For information regarding the provisions of Rhode Island laws contact: 

 
Employment Standards Administration Labor Standards Unit 
United States Dept. of Labor RI Department of Labor and Training 
380 Westminister Street, Providence, RI 02903 P.O. Box 20390, Cranston, RI 02920-0944 
(401) 490-2370 (401) 462-8550 

 
Minors 16-17 may not be employed beyond the curfew until the employer has been issued a certificate of age verifying the non-student 
status. 
 DLT is an equal opportunity employer/program - auxiliary aids and services available upon request. TTY via RI Relay: 711 
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