## **Attention Employees**



\$15.00

as of 1/1/25

Wage)

\$13.50

(90% of Minimum

## MINIMUM WAGE - RHODE ISLAND

Effective January 1, 2025

THIS LAW PROVIDES.....

HOURLY MINIMUM WAGE FOR ALL EMPLOYEES

EXCEPT: Full time students under 19 years of age working in a non-profit religious, educational, librarial or community services organization.

Minors 14 and 15 years of age working not more than 24 hours in a week
Employees receiving gratuities (as of Jan. 1, 2017):

\$11.25 (75% of Minimum Wage) \$3.89

**OVERTIME PAY** - At least 1 1/2 times your regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 40 in any one work week. Note: The law contains exemptions from the minimum wage and/or overtime pay requirements for certain occupations or establishments.

## MANDATORY NURSE OVERTIME -

Pursuant to RI Law §23-17.20-1 et. seq., a hospital may not require certain nurses and certified nurse assistants to work overtime except in an unforeseeable emergent circumstance

MINIMUM SHIFT HOURS - Employees requested or permitted to report for duty at the beginning of a work shift must be provided with 3 hours work or 3 hours wages. Retail establishment employees must be provided with 4 hours work on Sundays and Holidays.

CHILD LABOR - Employees must be at least 16 years old to work in most nonfarm jobs and 18 to work in nonfarm jobs declared hazardous by the U.S. Secretary of Labor. Youths 14 and 15 may work, with a special permit issued by local school officials, in various jobs outside school hours under certain conditions. Different rules apply to agriculture employment.

**ENFORCEMENT** - The Rhode Island Dept. of Labor and Training (DLT) may bring criminal action against any employer who pays substandard wages to an employee and seek, upon conviction, a penalty up to \$500.00 and/or imprisonment of up to 90 days. Each week an employer fails to pay the applicable minimum wage constitutes a separate violation.

Any employer who hinders or delays the DLT Director or authorized representative in the performance of duties in the enforcement of the law; refuses to admit the Director or said representative to any place of employment; fails to make, keep, and preserve, any records as required; falsifies any such record; refuses to make such record accessible to the Director or said representative upon demand; or refuses to furnish a sworn statement of such record or any other information needed for the proper enforcement of this law, shall be deemed in violation and subject to a fine of up to \$500. Each day such violation occurs constitutes a separate offense.

THE LAW REQUIRES EMPLOYERS TO DISPLAY THIS POSTER WHERE EMPLOYEES CAN READILY SEE IT.

For more information on the Rhode Island Minimum Wage Law Call (401) 462-WAGE (9243) or visit <a href="www.dlt.ri.gov/ls">www.dlt.ri.gov/ls</a>

Labor Standards Unit
Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training