

Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training (DLT)

Notice to All Employees - Information Employers Must Post



Attention Employees - MINIMUM WAGE - Rhode Island

Effective JANUARY 1, 2025 THIS LAW PROVIDES HOURLY MINIMUM WAGE FOR ALL EMPLOYEES

EXCEPT: Full-time students under 19 years of age working in a non-profit

religious, educational, librarial or community services organization.

Minors 14 and 15 years of age working not more than 24 hours in a week

Employees receiving gratuities (as of Jan. 1, 2017):

\$15.00 \$12.60 (90% of Minimum Wage)

\$10.50 (75% of Minimum Wage) \$3.89

Overtime Pay - At least 1½ times the regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 40 in any one workweek. The law contains exemptions from minimum wage and/or overtime pay requirements for certain occupations or establishments.

Mandatory Nurse Overtime - a hospital may not require certain nurses and certified nurse assistants to work overtime except in an unforeseeable emergency.

Minimum Shift Hours - Employees requested or permitted to report for duty at the beginning of a work shift must be provided with 3 hours work or 3 hours wages. Retail establishment employees must be provided with 4 hours work on Sundays and Holidays.

Child Labor - Employees must be at least 16 years old to work in most nonfarm jobs and 18 to work in nonfarm jobs declared hazardous by the U.S. Secretary of Labor. Youths 14 and 15 may work, with a special permit issued by local school officials, in various jobs outside school hours under certain conditions. Different rules apply to agriculture employment.

Enforcement - DLT may bring criminal action against any employer who pays substandard wages to an employee, and may seek, upon conviction, a penalty up to \$500 and/or imprisonment of up to 90 days. Each week an employer fails to pay the applicable minimum wage constitutes a separate violation.

Any employer who hinders or delays the DLT Director or authorized representative in the performance of duties in the enforcement of the law; refuses to admit the Director or said representative to any place of employment; fails to make, keep, and preserve, any records as required; falsifies any such record; refuses to make such record accessible to the Director or said representative upon demand; or refuses to furnish a sworn statement of such record or any other information needed for the proper enforcement of this law, shall be deemed in violation and subject to a fine of up to \$500. Each day such violation occurs constitutes a separate offense.

Visit www.dlt.ri.gov/ls or call (401) 462-WAGE (9243) for more information.

DLT-L-58 (Rev. 1/2019)

Prevailing Wage for work on State/Municipal Financed Construction Projects

Prevailing Wage - Workers must not be paid less than the Davis Bacon wage rate for each trade listed on the Wage Determination schedule posted with this notice. **Overtime** rate applies when working over 8 hours a day or 40 hours a week. Apprentice rates apply only to properly registered apprentices in approved state apprenticeship programs.

Workers who do not receive **Proper Pay** may file a complaint with the DLT; claims will be investigated. Contact the Prevailing Wage Unit at (401) 462-8580, option #7 for more information. RI General Law §37-13-17 also provides for a private right of action to collect wages and benefits. DLT-L-39 (Rev. 1/2018)

You Are Protected under Provisions of the RI EMPLOYMENT SECURITY ACT and the TEMPORARY DISABILITY INSURANCE ACT

UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE BENEFITS

If you become totally/partially unemployed:

- 1. File your claim for benefits with the DLT the same week you are unemployed or working reduced hours.
- 2. File your claim online at www.dlt.ri.gov/ui or by telephone at (401) 243-9100. Visit www.dlt.ri.gov/ui for hours of operation. For more information, visit www.dlt.ri.gov/ui or call (401) 243-9100.
- 3. Monday is a high-volume telephone day; you may prefer to file your claim later in the week. You will need your Social Security number and name, address and telephone numbers of your employers for the last two years. If you are not a U.S. citizen, your alien registration number is required.
- 4. To collect unemployment benefits, the law requires that you must:
 - a. Be unemployed through no fault of your own,
 - b. Have earned minimum qualifying wages while you were working,
 - c. Be physically able to work, available for work, and actively seeking work, and
 - d. Register for work with DLT.

TEMPORARY DISABILITY INSURANCE BENEFITS

Eligible for TDI Benefits - If you have become ill or injured and meet all of the requirements, you may be entitled to receive benefits:

- 1. You are unemployed due to illness, surgery, or injury for a minimum of seven consecutive days or more, and
- 2. You are under the care of an approved Qualified Health Care Provider and 3. You have a timely exam: an in-office physical exam the week within the calendar week in which the first day
- of unemployment due to sickness occurs or within the calendar week prior or subsequent thereto.
- 4. You earned enough qualifying wages during the base period to be monetarily eligible.

Eligible for Temporary Caregiver Insurance Benefits - If you are caring for a seriously ill: child, spouse, parent, parent in-law, grandparent, domestic partner or you are bonding with a newborn child, adopted child or foster child within the first 12 months of parenting; you may be eliqible to receive benefits if you meet the following

- 1. You are unemployed because you are caring for a seriously ill family member or bonding with a child and 2. You provide the department with the required medical evidence of the seriously ill family member and your
- need to care for him/her or the required proof of parent child relationship for bonding claims and 3. You earned enough in qualifying wages to be monetarily eligible.

To Apply - Complete a TDI/TCI application. TDI claims must be filed within 90 days of the first week out of work due to illness. The DLT Director may extend this period up to 26 weeks if the individual can show a good medical reason for the delay in filing. TCI claims must be filed within 30 days after the first day of leave is taken for reasons of bonding or caregiving. TDI/TCI application may be obtained online at www.dlt.ri.gov/tdi. or call (401) 462-8420, Option #1 to request an application be mailed to you. For more information, visit www.dlt.ri.gov/tdi or call (401) 462-8420.

NOTE: You may be entitled to a refund of a portion of your contributions if during the calendar year TDI contributions were deducted from your pay by more than one employer. Information may be obtained regarding a refund by calling (401) 574-8700 or writing to the RI Division of Taxation, Employer Tax Section, One Capitol Hill, Suite 36, Providence, RI 02908-5829.

EMPLOYMENT AND TRAINING SERVICES

If you need help finding a job, DLT offers free employment and training related services including:

- 1. Job referral and placement services.
- 2. Resource rooms with a wide range of employment and training resources.
- 3. Career counseling and testing to help assess aptitudes and interests.
- 4. Internet access for employment and training information.
- 5. Job Search workshops to help you develop interviewing skills.
- 6. Résumé writing seminars to help you create an effective résumé and cover letter.

Visit dlt.ri.gov for a location near you. You can access many services online at www.employri.org.

DLT-TX-6 (Rev. 1/2019)

RHODE ISLAND PARENTAL AND FAMILY MEDICAL LEAVE ACT

Employers with 50 or more employees must grant an unpaid leave of absence upon the request of an eligible employee, for 13 consecutive weeks in any two calendar years, under certain conditions.

Employees are Eligible to apply for leave if they work full-time, an average of 30 hours or more per week and have been employed continuously for at least 12 months.

Purpose of Leave - Under the Act, the leave must be for one or more of the following reasons: 1. Birth of a child of an employee.

- 2. Placement of a child 16 years of age or less with an employee in connection with the adoption of such child by the employee.
- 3. "Serious illness" of the employee or the employee's parent, spouse, child, mother-in-law, or father-in-law. (Serious Illness is defined to mean a disabling physical or mental illness, injury, impairment or condition that involves in-patient care in a hospital, nursing home, hospice or out-patient care requiring continuing treatment or supervision by a health care provider).

Requests for Leave - To be entitled to the leave, the employee must give at least 30 days notice of the intended date upon which the requested leave is to begin and end, unless prevented by medical emergency from doing so. Employees may be requested to provide written certification from the physician of the person who is the reason for the leave request, which certification shall specify the probable duration of the requested leave.

School Involvement Leave - An employee who has been employed for 12 consecutive months is entitled to 10 hours of leave during any 12-month period to attend school conferences or other schoolrelated activities for a child of whom the employee is the parent, foster parent, or guardian. A notice of 24 hours prior to the leave must be given to the employer by the employee. The leave is not required to be paid; however, an employee may substitute any accrued paid vacation leave or other appropriate paid leave.

Use of Sick Leave by Adoptive Parent - Any employer who allows sick time or sick leave of an employee to be used after the birth of a child shall allow the same time to be used for the placement of a child 16 years of age or less with an employee in connection with the adoption of the child by the employee.

Continuation of Health Benefits - Prior to the commencement of leave, the employee must pay his employer a sum equal to the premium required to maintain the employee's health benefits in force during the period of leave, which sum is required to be returned to the employee within 10 days following return to

Return from Leave - Employees who are granted leave under the Act are entitled to be restored to the position held when the leave commenced, or to a position with equivalent seniority, status, employment benefits, pay and other terms and conditions of employment, including all fringe benefits and service credits that the employee had been entitled to at the commencement of the leave.

Prohibited Acts - It is unlawful for any employer to interface with, restrain or deny employees the rights provided under the Act. Any discrimination or disciplinary action taken against an employee for exercising these rights under the Act, or for opposing any practice made unlawful by the Act, is also prohibited.

Enforcement - Alleged violations of the Act may be complained of (1) in a civil action brought by an employee, (2) by a complaint filed with the DLT Director. Civil penalties are provided for viola tions of the Act or any order issued by the Director of Labor and Training. (Rev. 1/2018)

HEALTHY AND SAFE FAMILIES and WORKPLACES ACT

Pursuant to RI General Law §28-57, you are entitled to sick and safe leave to address your own health and safety needs as well as those of your family. This leave may or may not be paid depending on the size of your employer and other factors as detailed in the law.

Visit www.dlt.ri.gov/wrs or call (401) 462-WAGE (9243) for more information.

WORKERS' COMPENSATION ACT of the State of Rhode Island

Workers' Compensation Insurance Company:	
Adjusting Company:	
Telephone:	Policy Effective Date:

In accordance with RI General Law §28-32-1, employers must report to the DLT Director every personal injury sustained by an employee if the injury incapacitates the employee from earning full wages for at least 3 days or requires medical treatment, regardless of the period of incapacity. If the injury proves fatal, the report must be filed within 48 hours. If not fatal, the report shall be made within 10 days of the injury.

An injured employee shall have freedom to choose medical treatment initially. The employee's first visit to any facility under contract or agreement with the employer or insurer to provide priority care shall not be considered the employee's initial choice. For more information, call the Education Unit at (401) 462-8100, press #1. If you suspect fraud, contact the Fraud Prevention Unit at (401) 462-8100, press #7. DWC-8 (Rev. 1/2018)

Pursuant to RI General Law §28-6.14-1, it is unlawful for an employer to include on a job application any questions regarding whether an applicant has ever been arrested, charged with or convicted of any crime. Limited exceptions exist for law enforcement agencies and related positions. Employers in violation of this law may be fined between \$100-\$500 per offense. Visit www.dlt.ri.gov/ls or call (401) 462-WAGE (9243) for more information. (Rev. 1/2018)

RHODE ISLAND RIGHT-TO-KNOW Ignoring This Poster Can Be Hazardous To Your Health

Under the RI Right-To-Know Law, your employer must tell you about the dangers of any hazardous substances in your workplace. You have a right to know:

- the common name or trade names of the substance, including the chemical name;
- the level at which exposure to the substance is hazardous, if known;
- the effects and symptoms of exposure at hazardous levels;
- the potential for flammability, explosion and reactivity of the substance;
- appropriate emergency treatment;
- proper procedures for the safe use of and exposure to the substance;
- proper protective equipment for safe use; and • procedures for clean-up of leaks and spills.

Your employer must provide you with the above information. If he or she has not, make sure you ask about it. Your company representative is:

The Right-To-Know Law was created to protect you. Visit http://www.dlt.ri.gov/ occusafe or call (401)462-8570, option #4 for more information.

"Because not knowing about the hazardous substances you work with is the greatest hazard of all."

DLT-L-47 The RI Right-To-Know Law (Rev. 1/2018)