
Please read instructions below carefully:

1.	 Submit a legible copy of a valid driver’s license or state identifica-	
	 tion with the application.
2.	 Complete, sign and submit the enclosed application form.
3.	 Submit a check or money order in the amount of $75 (application 	
	 fee) made payable to the RI Dept. of Labor and Training along 		
	 with the application. Payment is non-refundable.
4.	 Submit a separate, detailed statement on company letterhead 		
	 stating that the contractor has been incorporated or has been
	 registered to do business with the State of Rhode Island for the 	
	 past three (3) years designating the installation of water-filtration/	
	 treatment systems as a provided service; OR stating that the
	 installer has been employed for the past three (3) years by a 
	 contractor that has been incorporated or registered to do business 	
	 with the state of Rhode Island designating the installation of 		
	 water-filtration/treatment system as a provided service. 
	 Statement must be notarized.

Note: Incomplete applications will not be processed and will be 
returned to the applicant. All required documentation also must be 
included with the application.

Water Filtration Application Information

§ 5-20-5.2 “Commercial water fil-
tration/treatment system work” de-
fined. [Effective January 1, 2017]
Commercial water filtration/treat-
ment system work,” as used in this 
chapter, means any alteration, in-
stallation or repair of water filtration/
treatment systems in which the pip-
ing exceeds one and one-half inch-
es (1.5”) or the flow rate exceeds 
eighty (80) gallons per minute.

§ 5-20-3.3 “Journeyperson water 
filtration/treatment system installer” 
defined. [Effective January 1, 2017]. 
Journeyperson water filtration/treat-
ment system installer,” as used in 
this chapter, means a person who 
has performed all phases of a proj-
ect under the supervision of a mas-
ter water filtration/treatment system 
installer licensee for a period of not 
less than one year. Journeypersons 
shall not be permitted to apply for a 
water filtration/treatment system in-
stallation permit.

§ 5-20-4.2 “Apprentice water filtra-
tion/treatment system installer” de-
fined. [Effective January 1, 2017].
Apprentice water filtration/treatment 
system installer,” as used in this 
chapter, means a person hired to 
perform all phases of a water filtra-
tion/treatment system project under 
the supervision of a master water fil-
tration/treatment system installer li-
censee or a licensed journeyperson 
water filtration/treatment system in-
staller for a period of one year.

Application Fee (non-refundable)

License Computer
Code

Two-Year  
License Fee

Master water filtration/
treatment system installer 56 $240

Journeyperson water filtration/
treatment system installer 57 $72

Apprentice water filtration/
treatment system installer 58 $20 

(no test)

Important: Complete and submit a Ratio Sheet on company
letterhead. Ratio Sheet must also be notarized.
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RI General Law Information



Applicant Name:__________________________________________________________________________

Social Security Number:______________________________Date of Birth:___________________________
Street Address:___________________________________________________________________________
City/Town:_____________________________________________State:___________Zip Code:__________ 	  
Telephone:_________________________________Email:________________________________________
License in which you are applying:_________________________________________Computer Code:_____  	

Current Employer (list if self-employed):_______________________________________________________
Employer Address:________________________________________________________________________
City/Town:_____________________________________________State:___________Zip Code:__________ 	  
Employer Telephone:_____________________________Email:____________________________________

Water Filtration Application Form
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Please print clearly.
Applicant must truthfully answer all questions and swear to the same before a NOTARY PUBLIC. Penalties for false 
information are as itemized in the General Laws of Rhode Island and Addendum. Information may be verified.

	 Last				     	 First					     Middle Initial

From		         To

Employment History (list from most recent):
1. Employer Name:_______________________________________________________________________
    Dates Worked:_____________________________Type of Work:_________________________________

2. Employer Name:________________________________________________________________________
    Dates Worked:_____________________________Type of Work:_________________________________

From		         To

From		         To

3. Employer Name:_______________________________________________________________________
    Dates Worked:_____________________________Type of Work:_________________________________

Continued on next page



From		         To

Education (list all education and schooling received in the plumbing and irrigating trades):
1. Institution Name:_______________________________________________________________________
    Dates Attended:_____________________________Degree/Diploma:_____________________________

2. Institution Name:_______________________________________________________________________
    Dates Attended:_____________________________Degree/Diploma:_____________________________

From		         To

From		         To

3. Institution Name:_______________________________________________________________________
    Dates Attended:_____________________________Degree/Diploma:_____________________________

Continued from previous page

List all valid licenses you currently hold with the RI Department of Labor and Training:
1. Type of Licence:__________________________ 2. Type of Licence:______________________________

____________________________________________________
Applicant Signature						      Date

_________________________________________________________
Notary Signature						      Date

_____________
Expiration Date

SUBMIT APPLICATION AND PAYMENT TO:
 RI Department of Labor and Training

 Div. of Workforce Regulation and Safety
 Professional Regulation Unit 

1511 Pontiac Avenue, PO Box 20247
Cranston, RI 02920-0943

If you fail to pass your examination, you may request a review, in writing, 
to the Division of Professional Regulation within 30 days of failure notice.

For Office Use Only - Please Do Not Write In This Area

Test Fee Paid	 Check	 Credit	 MO	 	 	 	 Division/Commission Approval for Test
_________________________________________	 	 _________________________________________

Comments/Date Approved________________________________________________________________________
Date Paid_____________________________________________________________________________________



 

THIS IS AN IMPORTANT NOTICE
If you do not understand the enclosed no-
tice, please contact this office in the RI De-
partment of Labor and Training, Division of 
Workforce Regulation and Safety to speak 
with a Spanish interpreter. Spanish inter-
preters are available to assist you. If you are 
attending a hearing, you cannot use your 
own interpreter. The Division of Workforce 
Regulation and Safety will provide an inter-
preter for you. It is important that you call 
the Division of Workforce Regulation and 
Safety at (401) 462-8570 or (401) 462-8580, 
at least seven (7) days prior to your hearing 
to request an interpreter.

The Division of Workforce Regulation and 
Safety is responsible for providing inter-
preter services at no cost to you. You are 
responsible for requesting these services in 
accordance with the procedures outlined in 
this notice.

Please Note:
Interpreters are available to assist custom-
ers in languages other than Spanish. Please 
contact the Division of Workforce Regula-
tion at (401) 462- 8580 or (401) 462-8570 to 
request an interpreter or written translation 
in a language other than Spanish.

 RI Department of Labor and Training
Workforce Regulation and Safety

AVISO IMPORTANTE
Si usted no entiende esta notificación, por 
favor contacte a la oficina de RI Departa-
mento de Trabajo y Entrenamiento División 
de Workforce Regulation y Safety para 
hablar con un intérprete en Español. Inter-
pretes en Español están disponibles para 
asistirle. Usted no puede usar su propio 
intérprete si va a asistir a una audiencia. 
Workforce Regulation y Safety le proveerá 
un intérprete a usted. Es importante que 
usted llamé al Workforce Regulation y 
Safety al (401) 462-8570 o (401) 462-8580 
por lo menos (7) días antes de su audiencia 
para solicitar un intérprete.

La División de Worforce Regulation y Safety 
es responsable de provéer servicios de 
interpretación sin costo alguno para usted. 
Usted es responsable de solicitar estos 
servicios de acuerdo con el procedimiento 
escrito en esta notificación.

Por Favor Observe:
Interpretes estan disponible para asistir a 
clientes en idiomas, ademas del Español. 
Por favor contacte la de Division of Work-
force Regulation, llamando al (401) 462-
8580 o (401) 462-8570, para solicitar un 
interprete o para traduccion escrita en un 
idioma, ademas del Español.
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