Davis Bacon Rates

Pertinent Links
for Prevailing Wage

RI Department of Labor and Training
Division of Workforce Regulation and Safety

Davis Bacon Wage Determinations are wages issued

by the US Dept. of Labor under the Davis Bacon and
related Acts. Contractors must pay the proper Prevailing
Wage rate that is listed on the Davis Bacon Wage
Determination applicable to the project.

In order to properly classify workers on a Prevailing
Wage job site, contractors must confer with the wage
determination in relationship to the actual work the
worker is performing on that project.

Facts regarding Prevailing Wage rate:

There are two numbers that define each cost of trade
labor. One refers to the base rate and the other refers to
the fringe rate. These numbers must be added together to
determine the cost of the prevailing wage

rate per hour.

An employer may deduct bona fide fringe benefits from
that rate. If there are no bona fide fringe benefits given,
the employer must pay the full amount (the base plus the
fringe benefit amount) in the hourly pay rate.

If a contractor has an apprentice registered with the State
of Rhode Island in a bona fide indentured apprenticeship
program, they may take a deduction from the base
portion of the Prevailing Wage rate for they would be
following the wage progression chart that has been
established for that particular apprentice.

@ Visit these sites for more
. e w information about

~— Rhode Island Prevailing Wages

RI Prevailing Wage Section, RI DLT:
www.dlt.ri.gov/pw

Davis Bacon Reference Material:
www.dol.gov/esa/programs/dbra/index.htm

Davis Bacon Rates:
http://www.wdol.gov/dba.aspx#0

Archived Davis Bacon Rates:
www.wdol.gov/archdba.aspx

If you have any additional questions
regarding RI Prevailing Wage, please contact:

Division of Workforce Regulation and Safety
Professional Regulation Unit
Prevailing Wage Section
(401) 462-8580, option #7 or

visit us online at: www.dlt.ri.gov/pw

For questions regarding Federal Prevailing Wage,
you may contact:
US Department of Labor
380 Westminster Street, Providence, RI 02903
(401) 528-4431
DLT is an Equal Opportunity Employer/Program. Auxiliary aids and services

are available upon request to individuals with disabilities. TDD 401-462-8006
MDF 5/09

A Guide to Rhode Island

Prevailing

Rhode Island Dept. of Labor and Training
Division of Workforce Regulation and Safety
Professional Regulation Unit
Prevailing Wage Section
1511 Pontiac Avenue Building #70
Cranston, Rhode Island 02920
Phone: (401) 462-8580, Option #7
www.dlt.ri.gov/pw




What is Prevailing Wage?

Prevailing Wage means the per hour wages contractors
are required to pay workers performing various and
related trades on RI public works construction projects.

Contractors must pay their workers the prevailing wage

rate whenever state or municipal funds of $1000 or
more are used on the public works construction project.

Rhode Island General Law 37-13 mandates that any
contractor who has been awarded a contract for a
Public Works construction project over $1000.00 must
pay the applicable prevailing wage rates.

This includes any public work consisting of grading,
cleaning, demolishing, improvement, completion,
repair, alteration or construction of any public road or
any bridge or portion thereof or any heavy construction
or any public works projects of any nature or kind
whatsoever.

Some requirements of RI Prevailing Wage:

% Prevailing Wage posters and rate schedules
must be posted on Prevailing Wage job sites.
Posters are free, and can be obtained on-line at
www.dlt.ri.gov/Imi/business/post.htm or by
calling 1-888-616-JOBS.

% Employees must be paid at weekly intervals.

% If an employee works in any one week greater
than forty (40) hours or in any one day greater
than eight (8) hours, they shall be compensated
at the prevailing rate of wages for overtime.

What if You're Not Paid
the Prevailing Wage Rate?

. % You may contact this office
to schedule a meeting to review
the evidence you have to support
your claim.

s % All complaints must be filed
= within twenty-four (24) months
| of the completion of the project.

- % The Prevailing Wage
Investigators will review all of the payroll records of
the contractor being investigated for the prevailing
wage project. These Investigators represent the
worker through this process in speaking to the
company on their behalf, verifying that their
employer is complying with the law.

RI Certified Weekly Payroll forms and
the Statement of Compliance can be
found on the Prevailing Wage web site

at: www.dlt.ri.gov/pw/Forms.htm

Frequently Asked Questions
about Prevailing Wage

Does the State make
routine on-site
inspections? Yes,

state investigators
conduct routine
investigations on RI
Prevailing Wage jobsites
to verify that the proper prevailing wage rates are
being paid to employees working on the project.

Where can a contractor find the applicable
Prevailing Wage cost per hour for the various
trades that will be used when making a bid

on a RI Public Works project? The contractor
must refer to the applicable Davis Bacon Wage
Determination rate schedule that can be found on
the Federal Department of Labor and Training
website at www.wdol.gov/dba.aspx#0. Note:
previous Davis Bacon rate schedules may be found
at www.wdol/archdba.aspx.

Do wage rates change every year? The trade
rates may change at various times throughout the
year. Contractors should check the Davis Bacon
website - www.wdol.gov/dba.aspx#0 for the rate
that is applicable to the prevailing wage project
they are working on.

Do contractors and subcontractors need to

have their workers OSHA-10 certified before
working on Public Works construction projects
of $100,000.00 or more? In accordance with

For more Frequently Asked Questions,
visit us on-line at

www.dlt.ri.gov/pw

R.I.G.L. 37-23, all employees working on-site on
Public Works construction project with a total cost
of one hundred thousand ($100,000) or more must
have an OSHA ten-hour certification. A list of
potential OSHA-10 trainers can be found at
www.dlt.ri.gov/profregs.

€ Contractors on Rhode Island Prevailing Wage
projects are required to complete RI Certified
Weekly Payroll forms.




