a Certificate of Operation is issued by the department. However, if violations are discovered during the inspection process, the department will send you a letter detailing the discrepancies and appropriate corrective actions. Once the noted violations are abated, an inspector then performs a re-inspection to ensure that discrepancies have been corrected. Once the Department of Labor and Training receives a final payment, it will issue a Certificate of Operation.

## What is the fee for a Certificate of Operation?

The fee for a Certificate of Operation is \$60.00 per heating unit.



## When is my hot water heater required to be inspected?

Depending on the type of unit, pressure vessels are required to be inspected annually, biennially or triennially.

#### For more information, contact

Division of Workforce Regulation and Safety Occupational Safety Boiler Unit 1511 Pontiac Avenue, Cranston, RI 02920 Tel: (401) 462-8570, Option #1 Fax: (401) 462-8576 www.dlt.ri.gov/occusafe/boiler.htm



For directions, visit the Occupational Safety web site www.dlt.ri.gov/occusafe.

Equal Opportunity Employer/Program / Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities. TTY via RI Relay 711



## Hot Water Heater Safety



# For more information, call the Occupational Safety Unit

at (401) 462-8570 or visit www.dlt.ri.gov/occusafe

a division of Workforce Regulation and Safety

2/2019 JP

#### **Hot Water Heater Safety**

#### WORKFORCE REGULATION AND SAFETY BOILER UNIT

The staff at the RI Department of Labor and Training's Boiler Unit assure that pressure vessels throughout the state are operating safely. In addition to inspections, this unit monitors new installations, reconditioned vessels and boiler repairs. It also certifies hydrostatic testing.

#### IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT HOT WATER HEATERS

Did you know that your hot water heater is potentially explosive?



The safety of hot water heaters depends on their maintenance and regular inspections. When a hot water heater is not well-maintained, the potential for damage is explosive.

**FACT:** The energy released from a 30gallon home hot water tank, as it pressurizes into explosive failure, generates a force strong enough to send an average-sized car to a height of 124 feet or more (the height of a 14-story building), with a velocity of 85 miles per hour.

The force created could also level a house or business, endangering not only those inside, but those who live nearby or are passing by.

#### Tips to Avoid a Potential Hazard

- Immediately report any signs of malfunction or unusual operation to appropriate persons.
- Schedule your hot water heater for service annually or as needed.
- Make sure your hot water heater is serviced by a licensed and reputable company. Unqualified workers who service heaters may illegally bypass safety controls intend ed to prevent explosive operational problems.
- Keep the area around the heater clear of debris.
- Do not store items on top of a heater unit.
- Keep inspections current.

### How do I stay in compliance with the law?

Per Rhode Island General Law 28-25, the state of Rhode Island requires hot water heaters that are installed in public places



of assembly, such as schools, child care centers, public and private hospitals, nursing and boarding homes, churches or public buildings, to be inspected by a state or commissioned insurance company inspector. The law also requires that a Certificate of Operation be posted at all hot water heater locations.

## How do I obtain a Certificate of Operation?

Once your hot water heater inspection is complete, an invoice is sent by the RI Department of Labor and Training's Boiler Unit. Upon receipt of payment,