
Did you know.....

Preventing Fraud 
TDI is very proactive with respect to fraud and 
the misuse of benefits. By law, TDI can require 
individuals to be examined by an impartial QHP to 
determine continued disability and eligibility. TDI 
has an internal program to determine if someone 
has received TDI benefits during a period when he 
or she was working. TDI works closely with the 
Workers’ Compensation Court, insurance carriers 
and the Unemployment Insurance division to 
determine overpayments and/or fraud.

If you suspect that one of your employees is 
receiving TDI benefits and should not be, please 
contact the UI/TDI Fraud Unit at (401) 462-1522. 
Your call will be anonymous.

TCI provides up to four weeks of wage replacement 
benefits to workers who need to take time out of work 
to care for a seriously ill child, spouse, domestic 
partner, parent, parent-in-law or grandparent, or to 
bond with a newborn child, adopted child or foster 
child. Bonding claims may be requested only during 
the first 12 months of parenting. Proof of parent-child 
relationship is required. Applicants are responsible 
for obtaining the required medical documentation 
from the Qualified Healthcare Provider (QHP) of 
the seriously ill family member/care recipient. This 
includes obtaining the care recipient’s signature on 
any QHP- required release-of-information forms.  

•	 TCI law requires an employee to provide the 
employer with 30 days notice in writing when 
he/she expects to go on TCI unless unforeseen 
circumstances exist. 

•	 TCI law requires the employer to offer the 
employee a comparable position with the 
equivalent seniority, status, employment benefits, 
pay, and other terms and conditions, including 
fringe benefits, upon returning from the TCI 
leave. 

•	 TCI is financed entirely by employee payroll 
deductions via the TDI tax contributions.

For more information on TCI,  
visit www.dlt.ri.gov/tdi.

Temporary Caregiver Insurance (TCI)

Rhode Island was the first state to establish a TDI 
program in 1942, providing income support to 
individuals who are out of work because of a non-
work related illness or injury. California, Hawaii, 
New Jersey, New York, and the Commonwealth of 
Puerto Rico also have TDI programs.

To be medically eligible for TDI benefits, a qualified 
healthcare provider (QHP) must certify that an 
individual is unable to work for at least seven 
consecutive days. Most individuals who work in 
Rhode Island, regardless of place of residence, are 
covered by TDI. Exceptions include federal, state, 
and some municipal employees as well as partners 
and non-incorporated self employed workers.

An individual must meet certain earnings requirements 
and be medically certified by a QHP as unable to work.  
All information regarding a TDI claim is confidential. 
A person collecting TDI is not eligible to receive 
Unemployment Insurance or Workers’ Compensation 
benefits for the same weeks that TDI is paid.
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Your Role and Responsibilities 
TDI is funded entirely by employee payroll 
deductions.  It is the RI employer’s responsibility  
to deduct the TDI tax from all RI employees’ 
wages for payment to the Employer Tax Unit 
quarterly. The TDI tax rate and taxable wage base 
are updated every January 1st, and posted online 
at: www.dlt.ri.gov/lmi/news/quickref.htm 

Employers must provide employee wage and 
employment reports when requested by TDI when 
an employees files a TDI claim.

Out-of-state companies with employees working 
in RI must contact the RI Division of Taxation, 
Employer Tax Unit at (401) 574-8700 to register 
with the state of Rhode Island. Employees working 
in RI are subject to TDI. 

The Notice to All Employees on UI and TDI poster 
must be displayed in a prominent place in your 
establishment.  Download it free at  
www.dlt.ri.gov/business/post.htm.

Do you have questions on the 
TDI/TCI programs?  

DLT strives to provide quality customer 
satisfaction to the employer community as 
well as to TDI/TCI claimants. If you have 
questions, contact us. Because of the high 
volume of calls from claimants, the best way 
for employers to reach us is by e-mailing dlt.
tdi@dlt.ri.gov. Email your questions, along 
with your company name and phone number 
and we will get back to you as soon as we can. 
You may also contact TDI by phone on the 
employer line at (401) 462-8360 (this number 
is for employers only - employees should call 
(401) 462-8420). 

DLT is an Equal Opportunity Employer/Program.  Auxiliary aids & services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities.                   MDF 09/15

Can my employees receive TDI if I continue 
to pay them?  Yes. If your employee is totally 
unemployed due to a disability and you continue 
to pay your employee a salary, sick or vacation 
pay while they are out sick, they can collect TDI 
benefits. If your employee has returned to work 
at reduced hours and is collecting partial TDI, all 
earnings are considered.
  
If my employee is receiving TDI, can I deduct 
the TDI benefits received from the salary I 
continue to pay him or her? This is not an 
issue for TDI to decide. This would be a policy 
decision for the employer. 

My employee is on TDI. What are my rights 
as an employer?  Can I obtain information on 
my employee’s TDI claim?  The relationship is 
between TDI and the employee. The only time an 
employer is contacted is when TDI requests wage 
and/or employment information for an employee. 
This indicates that the employee has filed for TDI 
benefits. By law, all information regarding a TDI 
claim is confidential. 

Must I continue medical coverage when my
employee is on TDI? Must I hold their position 
open? These questions can be answered by DLT’s 
Labor Standards Unit. Contact them at (401) 462-
8550 or visit www.dlt.ri.gov/ls.  You may also 
contact the U.S. Dept. of Labor at (401) 528-4431 
or on-line at www.dol.gov.
 

TEMPORARY DISABILITY INSURANCE 
TEMPORARY CAREGIVER INSURANCE

P.O. Box 20100, Cranston, RI 02920 
E-MAIL: dlt.tdi@dlt.ri.gov 

PHONE for employers (401) 462-8360
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TDI and Partial Return to Work 

State legislation allows people collecting TDI 
to return to work on a partial basis without 
terminating their benefits. An individual who earns 
less than the weekly benefit rate would be entitled 
to a partial payment. Employees must be totally 
unable to work for at least 7 consecutive days 
before being eligible to receive partial benefits. 
If your employee is able to return to work at 
reduced hours and if you, the employer, have work 
available for them, he or she may be eligible to 
collect partial TDI payments.  

Claims Management Unit

The Claims Management Unit reviews TDI claims 
that extend beyond medical duration guidelines and 
educates claimants, employers, and qualified health 
providers (QHPs) on how the program operates.

Reed Group’s Medical Disability Advisor (MDA) 
software is used to establish unified medical 
certification guidelines. Registered nurses and a 
consultant physician review and manage difficult 
TDI claims utilizing the MDA software and 
case conference. A QHP may be contacted to 
provide more information on a patient when the 
duration for an illness/injury far exceeds the MDA 
guidelines. 

For information about claims management, call 
(401) 462-8446 or e-mail dlt.tdi@dlt.ri.gov.

Questions and Answers 


