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Did You Know....

Both Rhode Island and Federal laws regulate the 
employment of minors within this state.

This brochure will answer most of your 
questions about not only the hours and types 
of occupations that you may work, but it will 
also explain how to obtain the permits and/or 
certificates that you will need to comply with 
Rhode Island law. 

Following the rules and restrictions outlined here 
will ensure that you are able to work and earn 
in a safe environment while you further your 
education and prepare for your future career. 

GOT QUESTIONS?

If you have questions 
relating to youth 
employment, please feel 
free to contact us.  We 
are here to help you! 

CALL OR EMAIL US: 

Labor Standards  
(Wage & Hour) Unit
Phone: (401) 462-8550 

Email: DLT.laborstandards@dlt.state.ri.us

or 

Visit us online at: www.dlt.ri.gov/ls

For Federal Questions, you may contact: 
U.S. Department of Labor

Wage and Hour Division
380 Westminster Street, Room 346

Providence, RI  02903
401-528-4431

	

You may not obtain a  
permit to work 

unless you are at least 
14 years of age.

If you’re 16 or 17 years old and want to work 
in Rhode Island, you may obtain a “Certificate 
of Age” issued by the School Department 
where you live.  What you have to do: 

t Take a copy of your birth certificate,
	 baptismal certificate or passport to the
	 School Department or person authorized to
	 issue your “Certificate of Age.”

t Once the “Certificate of Age” is issued, bring
	 it to the employer.  The employer will
	 keep the certificate at the place of business.
	 It will serve as proof of your age. 

If you’re 16 or 17 years old, you may NOT be 
employed:   

1.  More than 48 hours per week
2.  More than 9 hours a day  
	 (9 3/5 hours if a 5-day work week)
3.  BEFORE 6 A.M. or AFTER 11:30 P.M.
	 (1:30 A.M.if no school the next day)
4.  Without an 8-hour respite between the end of 
	 a shift on one day and the start of work 		
	 the next day

EXCEPTION – There are no hour limitations 
during school vacations.  ALSO – There are no 
hour limitations nor curfew for those 16 and 17 
year olds who have left school.

a Guide  
for Students

Want more information about occupations?
Visit EmployRI at: www.employri.org

READY to WORK?
Understanding 
Rhode Island’s 
Child Labor Laws....



PROHIBITED HAZARDOUS OCCUPATIONS 
FOR ALL MINORS 

Under the age of 18 Years

1.	 Manufacturing and storing explosives 
2.	 Motor vehicle driving and outside helper
3.	 Coal mining
4.	 Logging and sawmilling
5.	 Power-driven woodworking machines
6.	 Exposure to radioactive substances
7.	 Power-driven hoisting apparatus
8.	 Power-driven metal-forming, punching, 	
	 and shearing machines
9.	 Slaughtering, or meat packing, processing, 	
	 or rendering. This includes the operation of 	
	 a power-driven meat slicer
10.	 Power-driven bakery machines 
11.	 Power-driven paper-product machines
12.	 Manufacturing brick, tile, and kindred 		
	 products 
13.	 Power-driven circular saws, band saws,
	 and guillotine shears
14.	 Wrecking demolition, and shipbreaking 
	 operations
15.	 Roofing operations
16.	 Excavation operations

These occupations and industries are prohibited 
for all minors under 18.  

For more information on 
permitted and prohibited 
occupations for minors, including all child labor 
laws, please visit the Labor Standards (Wage and 
Hour) Unit web site at:

www.dlt.ri.gov/ls

If you’re 14 or 15 years old and want to work 
in Rhode Island, you must obtain a “Special 
Limited Permit to Work” issued by the School 
Department in the City or Town where you 
live.  What you have to do:

t	Complete an “Intent to Employ Minor”  
	 form that may be obtained from the School 
	 Department where you live, or online from the
	 Labor Standards web site. 

t	Take a copy of your birth or baptismal
	 certificate, or passport to the School
	 Department or person authorized to issue a
	 “Special Limited Permit.”

t	Once the “Special Limited Permit” is issued,
	 bring it to the employer.  
	 The employer keeps
	 the permit at the place of
	 employment.  It serves
	 as proof of your age. 

What Work Can You 
Perform? 

If you’re 14 or 15, you 
may work in retail and in 
food service businesses, 
provided that your job fits 
into one or more of the 
permitted occupations.

 
Permitted Occupations for 14 or 15 year 
olds:

1. Office and Clerical Work, including operation of
	 office machines 

2. Cashiering, Selling, Modeling Art Work, Work in
	 Advertising Departments, Window Trimming and
	 Comparative Shopping 

3. Price Marketing and Tagging by hand or by
	 machine, Assembling Orders, Packing and Shelving 

4. Bagging and Carrying Out Customers’ Orders 

5. Errand and Delivery Work by foot, bicycle and 
	 public transport 

6. Cleanup Work, including the use of vacuum
	 cleaners and non-commercial floor waxers, and
	 Maintenance of Grounds, but not including the
	 use of power-driven mowers or cutters 

7. Kitchen Work and other work involved in
	 preparing and serving food and beverages,	
	 including the operation of machines and devices
	 used in the performance of such work, such as,
	 dishwashers, toasters, dumbwaiters, popcorn
	 poppers and milk shake blenders 

8. Cleaning Vegetables and Fruits, and Wrapping,
	 Sealing, Labeling, Weighing, Pricing and
	 Stocking Goods when performed in areas
	 physically separate from areas where meat is
	 prepared for sale, and from outside freezers or  
	 meat coolers

If you’re 14 or 15 years old, you may NOT be employed: 
t	During school hours. 
t	Before 6:00 a.m. or after 7:00 p.m., except
	 during school vacations when work is
	 permitted until 9:00 p.m.  
	 (NOTE: For businesses covered by Federal
	 Law, work is permitted until 9:00 p.m. from
	 June 1 until Labor Day.) 
t	More than eight (8) hours per day. 
	 (NOTE:  For  businesses covered by Federal
	 Law, more than 3 hours per day on school days) 

t	More than 40 hours per week. 
	 (NOTE:  For businesses  covered by 	
	 Federal Law,  more than 18 hours per week
	 in school weeks, or more than 40 hours per
	 week in non-school weeks.)

An exception is provided for minors employed 
pursuant to a Work Experience and Career 
Exploration Program (WECEP).

BUT, if you’re 14 or 15 years old and the job 
includes any of the following, then you may NOT 
work that job because it would be in violation of 
State and/or Federal Child Labor Laws. Examples 
of Prohibited Occupations for 14-15 year olds 
include:

t Any MANUFACTURING or MINING job
t PROCESSING occupations such as filleting of fish,  
	 dressing poultry, cracking nuts, or laundering 
t Occupations with duties in workplaces where goods 
	 are MANUFACTURED, MINED OR PROCESSED
t PUBLIC MESSENGER SERVICE
t  Operating or Tending of  Hoisting Apparatus		
	 or of any Power-Driven Machinery (other than
	 office machines and machines in retail, food 
	 service, and establishments)
t Any Occupations found and declared to be
	 hazardous by official designation
t Occupations in connection with: 
	 a) TRANSPORTATION of persons or 	
		  property by rail,  highway, air, on
		  water, pipeline, or other means
	 b) WAREHOUSING & STORAGE
	 c) COMMUNICATIONS & PUBLIC UTILITIES
	 d) CONSTRUCTION (including repair) 
	 EXCEPT office and sales work in connection with these four  
	 categories as long as such office and sales work is not
	 performed at the site of the prohibited jobs

t DISPENSING Gasoline or other fuel 
t DOCKS, private or public
t PARKING LOT ATTENDANTS
t CAR WASHES either hand or machine 
t Occupations in BILLIARD OR POOLROOMS
t Any work in a TUNNEL
t Any work in a BOILER or ENGINE room
t Outside WINDOW WASHING 
t All work using LADDERS or SCAFFOLDS
t Work in FREEZERS or MEAT COOLERS

DLT is an equal opportunity employer/program.   
Auxiliary aids & services are available upon request to individuals 

with disabilities. 10/15 MDF


