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This law does not apply 
to you. Your employer 

could be subject to
sick and safe laws in 

other states.

Do I Qualify for Paid “Sick and Safe Leave”?

In the past 12 months, did you perform more  
work in Rhode Island than in any other state?

Are you employed?

•	By a local municipality, 
the state of Rhode Island, 
the federal government or 
other public entity?

•	As a per diem nurse who:
àà works at a health care 

facility; 
àà is under no obligation  

to work a regular  
schedule; AND

àà receives higher pay  
than others who work 
a regular schedule  
while performing the 
same job.

Does your employer:

Your employer 
already 
offers 
the 
equivalent  
of earned sick 
and safe leave. 
Your present 
plan is as good 
as this act.

START HERE
MAYBE

$$

  1511 Pontiac Avenue, Cranston, RI 02920 

*Eighteen or more employees working in RI during the previous payroll year’s highest two employment quarters.
TTY via RI Relay 711  |  DLT is an equal opportunity employer/program.  |  Auxiliary aids and services available upon request.
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You are exempt 
and this act does 

not apply to you.

EXEMPT

Already provide a paid time 
off policy that makes at 
least 24 hours available to 
you during 2018? (And at 
least 32 hours available in 
2019? And at least 40 hours 
every year thereafter)?

You can now earn sick and safe 
leave through RI’s Healthy and Safe 

Families and Workplaces Act.

YOU
EARN
LEAVE

Sick and safe leave is 
paid if your employer 

has 18 or more  
employees on payroll.

$$

 YES

Does your employer have 18 employees?*

If your employer has 17 or 
fewer employees, payment 
is not required. However, 

you will earn unpaid leave.

 $

FINAL QUESTION:
PAID OR UNPAID?

There’s a new law on the books. It ensures that most employees who work in Rhode Island have a legal right to 
earn sick and safe leave so they can take time from work to care for themselves, their family and their house-
hold. For many workers, that time is paid. Do you qualify for RI’s Healthy and Safe Families and Workplaces 
Act? If you work in RI, you could be eligible even if your employer is out of state. 

    Answer the questions below to see how this act could affect you.
 
Learn more from RI’s Labor Standards Unit (www.dlt.ri.gov/ls/HSFWact.htm) including how to calculate earned 
leave, determine if there is a waiting period and other frequently asked questions. Call (401) 462-8550.


