
RHODE ISLAND DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND TRAINING 
DIVISION OF WORKFORCE REGULATION AND SAFETY 

PROFESSIONAL REGULTION UNIT 
 

 
NEW ALARM BUSNIESS LICENSE REQUIERMENTS: 
 
 

Application for Alarm Business License must be signed and notarized. 
 
Make check payable to the Dept. of Labor and Training in the amount of four hundred 
twenty five dollars ($425.00). 

 
Ten thousand dollar ($10,000) surety bond made payable to the State must be included 
with New Alarm Business License application. 

  
TWO (2) Experience Affidavits (if applicable)– signed and notarized. 
 

 
Copy of government issued ID (IE: Driver license or Passport) must be attached to the 
application. 

 
New Alarm Agent application must be included with the New Alarm Business License 
application. 

 
 
NEW ALARM AGENT LICENSE REQUIERMENTS: 
 

Application for Alarm Agent License must be signed and notarized. 
 

 
Make check payable to the Dept. of Labor and Training in the amount of thirty dollars 
($30.00). 

 
Two (2) Personal Reference Forms - must be signed and notarized. 
 

 
Copy of government issued ID (IE: Driver license or Passport) must be attached to the 
application. 

 
Must apply for Criminal History Report (CHR) with the Rhode Island Office of the 
Attorney General. (DLT DOES NOT ACCEPT (CHR) APPLICATIONS). 

 
 
  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training 
Division of Professional Regulation 

1511 Pontiac Avenue 
Cranston, RI 02920 

Telephone (401) 462-8533 | Fax (401) 462-8528 | www.dlt.ri.gov 
 
 

APPLICATION FOR ALARM BUSINESS LICENSE 
To avoid delay read carefully and comply with all instructions  

 
INSTRUCTIONS 

 
• This is a THREE YEAR LICENSE. 
 
• This application is for an original license only. Requests for renewal must be made on renewal application 
forms 
 
• Please print or type. No handwritten applications will be accepted. 
 
• Each question must be fully and truthfully answered. Any material misrepresentation will be grounds for 
refusal or subsequent revocation of license. Attach additional sheets of paper if space provided for answer is not 
sufficient. 
 
• Application fee of $125.00. • License fee of $300.00. • Total fee of $425.00 
 
• Make checks payable to "State of Rhode Island, General Treasurer." 
 
• $10,000.00 Surety Bond. 
 
• Two (2) experience affidavits *If applicant does not meet the requirements of the experience affidavit, submit 
$15.00 examination fee. 
 
• Applicant must also file as an alarm agent and submit all of the alarm agent’s 
required documents and fees. In addition to the above. 
 
The licensing law Title 5 Chapter 57 and Rules and Regulations pertaining to the Burgular and Hold-up 

alarm license is available online at www.dlt.ri.gov/profregs 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



Division of Professional Regulation 
1511 Pontiac Avenue 
Cranston, RI 02920 

Telephone (401) 462-8533 |  Fax (401) 462-8528 | www.dlt.ri.gov 

APPLICATION FOR ALARM BUSINESS LICENSE 
APPLICATION FEE $125.00 LICENSE FEE $300.00 TOTAL FEE OF $425.00 

CATEGORY OF APPLICANT (Check one of the following in each section): 
(A) _______ Resident        (B) ______ Individual (Signatory must be individual)

      _______ Non-Resident       ______ Firm (Signatory must be owner) 

   ______ Partnership (Signatory must be general partner) 

   ______ Corporation (Signatory must be principal officer) 

NOTE: With reference to the above, if the signatory of this application is a non-resident and does NOT operate any 
business in or is not employed in Rhode Island, this application must be cosigned by an approved individual possession 
the authority and responsibility to manage and operate the alarm business in this state. All of the information for the 
signator of this application shall ALSO be required of the co-signatory.

1._______________________________________________________ 2.________________________ 
Name (Last, First and Middle)       Social Security Number 

3._________________________________________________________________________________ 
Residence (Street, City/Town, State and Zip) 

Email: _________________________________________

4. _______________________ 5. _________________ 6. _________________________ 7. _____ Yes _____No
Home Telephone Number    Date of Birth      Place of Birth   Are you a U.S. Citizen?

8. Height: _________ 9. Weight: _________ 10. Color of Eyes: ______________ 11. Color of Hair:________

12._______________________________________________________________________________________ 
Name and Address of Employer or Self-employment at time of application. 

13. _____________________________ 14. ______________________________ 15. ____________________
      Business Telephone Number      Date of Employment        Length of time Employed 

16._______________________________________________________________________________________ 
Business name and principal office address under which applicant intends to operate (If different from #12) 

17.______________________ 18. _____________________________ 19. _______ Yes _______ No 
Date business commenced  Business hours and days of operation      Do you maintain 24 hour emergency service? 

20._______________________________________________________________________________________ 
Name and Address of Insurance Company supplying surety bond and expiration date 

APPLICATION CONTINUES ON NEXT PAGE… 



 
Division of Professional Regulation 

1511 Pontiac Avenue 
Cranston, RI 02920 

Telephone (401) 462-8533 | Fax (401) 462-8528 | www.dlt.ri.gov 
 

 
21. Have you read and do you understand the provisions of Title 5, Chapter 57 of the General Laws of Rhode Island 
pertaining to the regulation of alarm businesses and agents? _______ Yes _______ No 
 
22. List all alarm branches or locations other than principal office where alarm business will operate in Rhode Island: 
__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Branch Address (Street, City, State, Zip) Telephone Number 

___________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Branch Address (Street, City, State, Zip) Telephone Number 

23. If business is a CORPORATION please complete this section in full: 
Date of incorporation: ________________ Place of incorporation: ________________________________ 
 
List Principal officers of corporation and owners of 25% or more of stock: 
___________________________________________________________________________________________ 
Name Address Position or Title Telephone Number 
___________________________________________________________________________________________ 
Name Address Position or Title Telephone Number 
 
24. Complete the following questions by checking the appropriate box. Explain any "yes" answers in detail on separate 
sheet (s) of paper and attach statement to this application.  
 
Have you ever been refused, suspended, or revoked a license, permit or identification card to operate an alarm business or 
to act as an agent of such business in this or in any other state or lawful jurisdiction? _____ Yes ______ No  
 
Has any individual, firm, partnership, corporation, or organization with which you are now or have been associated in any 
capacity, had an alarm business or alarm agent license, permit, or identification card refused, suspended, or revoked?    
_____ Yes ______ No  
 
Has any owner, partner, director, officer, member, or stockholder of applicant or applicant’s alarm business ever had a 
license to operate as an alarm business or operate as an agent of an alarm business refused, suspended, or revoked? 
 _____ Yes ______ No 
 
Have you ever been (1) indicted for and/or convicted of any crime other than a minor traffic violation, or (2) been indicted 
for and/or convicted of any felony or misdemeanor, or (3) convicted of any crime or moral turpitude, misrepresenting 
products or services or misappropriating or unlawfully converting monies of others? _____ Yes ______ No  
 
Have you knowledge of any individual associated with the applicant alarm business, either owner, partners, or principal 
corporate officer of the applicant or applicant’s business, being indict or convicted of any offense in any of the above. 
_____ Yes _____ No 
 

APPLICATION CONTINUED ON NEXT PAGE… 
 
 



 
 

Division of Professional Regulation 
1511 Pontiac Avenue 
Cranston, RI 02920 

Telephone (401) 462-8533 | Fax (401) 462-8528 | www.dlt.ri.gov 
 
 
 

The Undersigned hereby apply/applies for license pursuant to the provisions of Title 5, Chapter 57 of the 
General Laws of Rhode Island and make (s) oath to the truth and accuracy of all statements, answers, and 
representations made in this application, including all supplementary statements hereto attached. 
 
 
X_______________________________________________      _________________ 
Signature of Applicant               Date 
(Individual, owner, general partner, or principal officer) 
 
 
X_____________________________________________         __________________ 
Co-signatory               Date 
(Authorized individual if signatory is non-resident or is not employed in Rhode Island) 
__________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 
Subscribed and sworn to at___________________________, before me this _____ day of________________,  
 
___________________________________________ My Commission Expires:_______________________ 
Signature of Notary Public 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 

APPLICATION CONTINUED ON NEXT PAGE… 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



 
 

Division of Professional Regulation 
1511 Pontiac Avenue 
Cranston, RI 02920 

Telephone (401) 462-8533 | Fax (401) 462-8528 | www.dlt.ri.gov 
 

EXPERIENCE AFFIDAVIT 
INSTRUCTIONS: 
1. Applicant shall not complete this form. It shall be completed by citizens who can verify that the applicant or individual, 
owner, officer, manager, partner, or employee of the applicant fulfilling the experience requirement, has been engaged or 
employed in an alarm business in sales, installation, or service for an aggregate period of three (3) years prior to filing an 
application for an alarm business license. The person who satisfies this experience requirement must, by law, devote a 
substantial amount of his/her daily business or work time to engaging in and/or supervising the sale, installation, or servicing 
of alarm systems on behalf of the applicant. 
 
2. Each person wishing to satisfy the experience requirement for any alarm business license must supply two (2) separate 
affidavits detailing his/her experience in this field. If the person has three (3) years of experience or a combination thereof 
from more than one state, two (2) affidavits will be required from each state where the person practiced or operated in an 
alarm business. 
 
This is to certify and state that __________________________________________, 

(APPLICANT'S NAME) 
performed the services of: _______________________________________________________________________ 
 
Dates the above listed services were performed: _____________ ____________ 

  FROM        TO 
 

Name of person making affidavit: _________________________________________________________________ 
 
Name of Company: ______________________________________________ Phone: ________________________ 
 
Address: ______________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

________________         X_______________________________________ 
Date     Signature of person making affidavit 

 
Subscribed and sworn before me this _______ day of _____________________, 20 ____. 
 
 
X_______________________________________ 
Signature of Notary Public      Seal of Notary Public 

 
 
 
 
 

APPLICATION CONTINUED ON NEXT PAGE… 
 

 
 



 
Division of Professional Regulation 

1511 Pontiac Avenue 
Cranston, RI 02920 

Telephone (401) 462-8533 | Fax (401) 462-8528 | www.dlt.ri.gov 
 

EXPERIENCE AFFIDAVIT 
INSTRUCTIONS: 
1. Applicant shall not complete this form. It shall be completed by citizens who can verify that the applicant or individual, 
owner, officer, manager, partner, or employee of the applicant fulfilling the experience requirement, has been engaged or 
employed in an alarm business in sales, installation, or service for an aggregate period of three (3) years prior to filing an 
application for an alarm business license. The person who satisfies this experience requirement must, by law, devote a 
substantial amount of his/her daily business or work time to engaging in and/or supervising the sale, installation, or servicing 
of alarm systems on behalf of the applicant. 
 
2. Each person wishing to satisfy the experience requirement for any alarm business license must supply two (2) separate 
affidavits detailing his/her experience in this field. If the person has three (3) years of experience or a combination thereof 
from more than one state, two (2) affidavits will be required from each state where the person practiced or operated in an 
alarm business. 
 
This is to certify and state that __________________________________________, 

(APPLICANT'S NAME) 
performed the services of: _______________________________________________________________________ 
 
Dates the above listed services were performed: _____________ ____________ 

  FROM        TO 
 

Name of person making affidavit: _________________________________________________________________ 
 
Name of Company: ______________________________________________ Phone: ________________________ 
 
Address: ______________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

________________         X_______________________________________ 
Date     Signature of person making affidavit 

 
Subscribed and sworn before me this _______ day of _____________________, 20 ____. 
 
 
X_______________________________________ 
Signature of Notary Public      Seal of Notary Public 
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